Skip to content

Embedded system review

November 19, 2012

Embedded system is a computer system designed for specific control functions, normally for real-time purposes and it’s part of a complete system with a hardware and mechanical parts. Physically, embedded systems range from portable devices such as digital watches and MP3 players, to large stationary installations like traffic lights, factory controllers. Complexity varies from low, with a single microcontroller chip, to very high with multiple units, peripherals and networks mounted inside a large chassis or enclosure, Prices vary from under dollar to hundred dollars.

The core of an embedded system can be a microcontroller,DSP, CPLD or FPGA . The difference between these cores and CPU is lack of having MMU(memory management unit) and their application in real-time functions.

The best tutorial that, I found on the web on embedded system programming so far is in the following link by Arvind Singh from Bangalore

The following chapters are covered:

  1. Chapter-1: Introduction to Embedded Systems
  2.  Chapter-2: Instruction Sets
  3.  Chapter-3: Keil C Programming Tutorial (Part-1)
  4.  Chapter-4: Keil C Programming Tutorial: Pointers
  5.  Chapter-5: Keil C Programming Tutorial: Functions
  6.  Chapter-6:  Keil C Programming Tutorial: Writing simple C program in Keil
  7.  Chapter-7: Keil C Programming Tutorial: C and Assembly together
  8.  Chapter-8: Keili C Programming Tutorial: Interfacing C programs to assembeler
  9.  Chapter-9: How to use Keil Microvision IDE
  10.  Chapter-10: Interrupts Programming 8051
  11. Chapter-11: Timers in 8051 &Timer Programming
  12.  Chapter-12: USART Programming
  13.  Chapter-13: I2C or TWI(Two Wire Interface)

You can download Keil C from from this site and instantly start programming! 😉

Check out these videos by Dr. Santanu Chaudhury, Department of Electrical Engineering,  if you need to learn more.

What is next?  Making yourself familiar with Raspberry Pi and Arduino
Raspberry Pi Website and this YouTube channel are the best places to learn Raspberry Pi

 

From → Cisco

4 Comments
  1. Hi, i think that i noticed you visited my weblog so i came to “go back the want”.I’m attempting to find issues to enhance my site!I guess its good enough to make use of some of your concepts!!

    • Nice, I have you bookmarked, and sited by hyperlink, bro.
      ps: This is the true way.

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

    • tnx for kind words!. I do my best to enrich it (but trying to keep copy right laws, NDA) in my free times.

Leave a Reply

